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Interpretation: 
The game shall be stopped as soon as possible and without placing any team at a disadvantage. 
Teams shall exchange baskets. The game shall be resumed from the mirror-opposite place nearest to 
where the game was stopped. 

Example 2: 
At the beginning of a period, team A is defending its own basket when B4 erroneously dribbles to 
his own basket and scores a field goal. 

Interpretation: 
The two (2) points shall be awarded to the captain of team A who is on the playing court. 

Statement 1 
The team that does not obtain control of a live ball on the playing court after the jump ball at the 
beginning of the game will be awarded the ball for a throw-in at the place nearest to where the next 
jump ball situation occurs. 

Example 1: 
A referee tosses the ball for the opening jump ball. Immediately after the ball is legally tapped by 
jumper A4: 
(a) A held ball between A5 and B5 is called. 
(b) A double foul between A5 and B5 is called. 

Interpretation: 
Since the control of a live ball on the playing court has not yet been established, the official cannot 
use the alternating possession arrow to award possession. The referee shall administer another jump 
ball in the centre circle and A5 and B5 shall jump. Whatever time has passed on the game clock, 
after the ball is legally tapped and before the held ball/double foul situation shall remain consumed. 

Example 2: 
The referee tosses the ball for the opening jump ball. Immediately after the ball is legally tapped by 
jumper A4 and the ball: 
(a) Goes directly out-of-bounds. 
(b) Is caught by A4 before it has touched one of the non-jumpers or the floor. 

Interpretation: 
In both cases team B is awarded a throw-in as the result of the A4 violation. After the throw-in the 
team that does not gain control of the live ball on the playing court will be entitled to the first 
alternating possession at the place nearest to where the next jump ball situation occurs. 

Example 3: 
Team B is entitled to a throw-in under the alternating possession procedure. An official and/or a 
scorer makes an error and the ball is erroneously awarded to team A for the throw-in. 

Interpretation: 
Once the ball touches or is legally touched by a player on the playing court, the error cannot be 
corrected. However, team B shall not lose its alternating possession throw-in opportunity as a result 
of the error and will be entitled to the next alternating possession throw-in. 

Example 4: 
Simultaneously with the game clock signal for the end of the first period, B5 fouls A5 and an 
unsportsmanlike foul is called. 


